Australian Government Govshare

1216.0 - Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), July 2011  

Owner Organisation:ABS
Description: (HISTORICAL): A classification system (now replaced by the ASGS) designed and maintained by the ABS, which divides Australia into geographical areas for the purpose of collecting and disseminating statistics. It describes the statistical geographical areas effective at 1 July 2011 and includes maps of these areas. This is the final edition of the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC). The ASGC was used by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) from 1984 to 2011 for the collection and dissemination of geographically classified statistics. It is a reference for understanding and interpreting the geographical context of statistics published by the ABS. Historically the ASGC described seven hierarchies of geographical areas. Each structure was designed to suit different statistical purposes. This edition describes four structures. The Main Structure and the Statistical Region Structure cover the whole of Australia. The Local Government Area Structure and the Statistical District Structure cover only part of Australia. The three remaining historical structures, Urban Centres and Localities, Section of State and Remoteness Structures, have not been included as Census Collection Districts were no longer defined. These structures are now defined in the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS). For 2011, the ASGC was released concurrently with the ASGS to ensure a smooth transition to the new statistical geography. Email for further information.
Identifier: ABS.AustralianStandardGeographicalClassification(ASGC)
Type: WoG Information Definition
Information Domain: Financial Demographic Welfare
Information Type: Standard Classification
Format: html
Year Created: 2011

Entry last updated: 30-10-2014


Business Reference Model (BRM):
  • Management of Government Resources Business Area > Information and Knowledge Management  
  • Management of Government Resources Business Area > Information and Knowledge Management > Information Exchange Standards  



Please wait